Governance At Cliff Park Ormiston Academy 

Our governors work together to support the Academy. They challenge its progress and make sure that students are getting the education they deserve. 

If you have any questions for governors please contact the school office. 

Please click for a copy of the LGB Terms of Reference (2023) 

Please click for a copy of the OAT Scheme of Delegation (2023-24) 

Please click for a copy of the Ormiston Academies Trust’s Decision Making Framework 

If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors or a member of the Governing Body, please call the Principal’s PA, Mrs. Spurgeon, on 01493 661504

Structure Of Governing Body 

The committee structure is as follows: 

  • Local Governing Body – comprises all governors – Rebecca Bierton (chair)
  • Finance and General Purposes Committee
  • Enrichment Committee
  • Strategic Progress Board – Chair Aron Whiles (Regional Director East, OAT) 

The Local Governing Body and each committee meet at least once each term. 

NameGovernor TypeTerm FromTerm To
Mrs Rebecca BiertonChair of GovernorsSep 23
Mrs Rowan BrownCommunity Governor30 Sep 202129 Sep 2025
Emma Flaxman -TaylorCommunity Governor15 Dec 202114 Dec 2025
Harry FrenchHead Teacher
Michael HansellParent Governor01 Jan 2023
Laura RossStaff Governor27 Sep 202326 Sep 2027
Mr Ryan SewellStaff Governor10 Mar 20209 Mar 2024
Mr Anish VarkeyCommunity Governor23 Mar 202222 Mar 2026

NameRemoval ReasonGovernor TypeFirst appointedFromToLeaving Date
Michael PapageorgiouResignedCommunity governor23 Mar 202223 Mar 202222 Mar 202617 May 2023
Lisa TaylorResignedClerk31 Aug 2023
Mr Kevin O’ConnellTerm of office expiredSponsor governor1 Sep 20211 Sep 202131 Aug 202331 Aug 2023
Mr Ian McCreadieResignedCommunity governor1 Jan 201431 Aug 202331 Aug 2023
Mr David SmallResignedParent governor29 Mar 201831 Aug 202331 Aug 2023
Alexander JordanResignedCommunity governor23 Mar 202223 Mar 202222 Mar 202626 Sep 2023


LGB26th September 20232.30pm
SPB3rd October 20232.00pm
FGP/LGB/Enrichment13th December 20232.30pm


SPB17th January 20242.00pm
FGP/LGB/Enrichment20th March 20242.30pm


SPB24th April 20242.00pm
SPB26th June 20242.00pm
FGP/LGB/Enrichment3rd July 20242.30pm

Cliff Park high School LGB attendance 22-23

Name/MeetingSept 22Dec 22March 23July 23
Kevin O’ConnellYesYesYesYes
Harry FrenchYesYesYesYes
Rowan BrownYesYesYesYes
Daniel ChapmanYesNoNono
Emma Flaxman TaylorYesNoNonyes
Daniel SmailYesYesYesyes
Ryan SewellYesYesYesyes
Anish VarkeyYesYesYesno
Alex JordanNoYesYesno
Michael PapageogiounoYesYesno
Ian McCreadieNoYesYesyes
Michael Hansellnononono
MEMBER Attendance 2020/21 14/12/21 22/03/22 20/07/22 
Ian McCreadie – Chair 100% Yes Cancelled Yes 
Harry French – Principal N/A N/A Cancelled Yes 
Rowan Brown N/A Yes Cancelled Yes 
Emma Flaxman – Taylor N/A N/A Cancelled Apologies 
Alex Jordan N/A N/A Cancelled Yes 
Kevin O’Connell N/A Yes Cancelled Yes 
Michael Papageogiou N/A N/A Cancelled Apologies 
David Smail N/A Yes Cancelled Yes 
Anish Varkey N/A N/A Cancelled Yes 
Kerry Greenall 100% Yes N/A N/A 
Jim Nixon N/A Yes N/A N/A 
Tamsin Poulter 100% N/A N/A N/A 
Paul Hann 100% N/A N/A N/A 
MEMBER Attendance 2020/21 19/10/21 01/02/22 03/05/22 12/07/22 
Ms J Philpott – Chair 100% Yes Yes Yes Yes 
Kevin O’Connell N/A Yes Yes Yes Yes 
David Smail N/A N/A N/A Yes Yes 
Tamsin Poulter 100% Yes N/A N/A N/A 
Catherine Richards 100% Apologies N/A N/A N/A 
Paul Hann 100% N/A N/A N/A N/A 


Mr H French (Principal) 
Mrs R Brown 
Ms E Flaxman-Taylor 
Mr A Jordan 
Mr A Varkey 

Strategic Progress Board: 

Mr A. Whiles (Regional Director East, OAT) 
Mrs R. Bierton (Chair of Governors) 
Mrs R. Brown

Disciplinary Committee: 

Minimum 3 members of the governing body, according to availability (excluding Staff Governors). Chair to be decided on the day. 

Governor responsible for SEN and Safeguarding: 

Mrs R. Bierton 

Link Governors: 

Rowan Brown – Pupil Premium 

Governor Details 

Name Governor type (community, parent, staff, OAT nominee, parent) Appointed by (election or OAT) Additional role on LGB (chair, VC, link) Date appointed End date Employment: self Employment: partner Substantial interests in trading companies Academy contracts: held by the governor or family Local body, charity/ association /organisation of which governor or partner is a member Any other current governance roles held in education Attendance – Last Academic Year 
Mrs Rowan Brown Community Co-opted Link Governor 
Pupil Premium 
30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Solicitor Insurance 
Director AON 
None None None None N/A 
Mrs R BiertonOAT NomineeOATChair of Gov
Mr A Jordan Community Co-opted None 23/03/2022 22/03/2026 University of East Anglia University of East Anglia None None None None N/A 
Mr R Sewell Staff governor Staff election None 10/03/2020 09/03/2024 Employed by 
None None None National 
Union (Member) 
None 4/4 
Mr A Varkey Community Co-opted None 23/03/2022 22/03/2026 Lotus Cars None None None None None N/A 
Rebecca Bierton
Confirmed: 12/09/2023Cromwell Academy, HuntingdonGovernor01/01/2020
Rebecca Bierton
Confirmed: 12/09/2023Horizons Learning Trust, CambridgeshireTrustee01/11/2021
Rebecca Bierton
OATPrimary Director01/09/2022
Rowan Brown
Confirmed: 27/09/2022
Emma Flaxman-Taylor
Confirmed: 27/09/2022
Harry French
Confirmed: 13/11/2023Cliff Park PrimaryOther governance roleGovernor at CP Primary
Michael Hansell
Confirmed: 02/11/2023East Coast Cinema LtdBusiness or finance interestsManaging Director09/11/2009
Michael Hansell
East Coast Dwellings LtdBusiness or finance interestsManaging Director – Rental Properties15/11/2015
Laura Ross
Confirmed: 18/10/2023
Ryan SewellConfirmed: 28/09/2022
Anish Varkey
Confirmed: 26/09/2023